Town of Orangetown EMS

Thanks to our many Supporters.

SOAC South Orangetown Ambulance Corps

The South Orangetown Ambulance Corps, located in Rockland County New York, provides ambulance and emergency medical services to the hamlets of Blauvelt, Orangeburg, Palisades, Sparkill and Tappan in the Town of Orangetown. SOAC responds to other parts of the town, county and to New Jersey as per a mutual aid agreement with our neighbors. SOAC is on call for the community 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year and responds to approximately 2000 emergency medical calls a year. We are a BLS agency and are responsible for all emergency medical transport for the above hamlets. SOAC also provides scheduled non-emergency transports for community residents as well as stand-by coverage at a wide variety of sporting events and public affairs.

The Corps was born at an informal meeting at a local Sparkill restaurant (now the Mountain House) in March, 1957, by eight members of the community. The community members had just witnessed a serious auto accident and a significant amount of time pass before an ambulance arrived to provide first aid to the victims and transportation to the hospital. The South Orangetown community did not have its own ambulance service so it relied on ambulance service from Nyack Community Ambulance Corps, which they had provided faithfully since 1939. The community members discussed their concerns and recognized the need for having a community based volunteer ambulance service located in South Orangetown so they didn't have to rely on ambulances coming from neighboring Towns. After three monthly meetings, the Corps was formally organized in July 1957 and officially chartered by the State of New York as a non-profit membership corporation on September 20, 1957.

The Founding Officers of the new organization were elected and included: John Britton, President; Elanor Jahoda, Vice President; Gertrude Keller, Secretary; Joe Cassetta, Treasurer; Otto Rohland, Rudy Keller, Frank Kopac, Leonard Behr, and Richard Spillman, Directors; William Krausser, Captain; Charles Martin, First Lieutenant and Robert Beasley, Second Lieutenant.

2017-2018 Corps Officers


  • Steve Harris, Chief
  • Peter Romisher, Deputy Chief
  • Glenn Albin, Assistant Chief
  • Marial Giuliano, Captain
  • Kyle Weiss, Lieutenant

Board of DIrectors

  • Ken Greenblatt, President
  • James McCluskey, Vice President
  • Peter Roimisher, Treasurer
  • Kathleen McCarthy
  • Sandy Sullivan
  • Joanmarie Skywark
  • Dan Salmon
  • Wayne Romisher

Adminstration and Support

  • Carol Leonard, Financial Secretary and Scheduling Officer
  • Jeanne Hankin, Corresponding Secretary
  • Danny Albin, Engineer
  • Kenneth Greenblatt, Supply Officer
  • Hank Henninger, Buildings+Grounds
  • Tracey Johnson, First District Representative
  • Sandrah Gurash, Training Director
Caring for our community with pride dedication and teamwork since 1957